Info

Wonderful images? Yeah, I can do that.

What do you get when you combine about 500 athletic dancers, lots of curly wigs and blazingly colorful and ornate dresses in a hotel ballroom? Well, around these parts you get a Feis. A feis (pronounced fesh) is an Irish dance competition. I’ve been fascinated by Irish dancing since my first trip to Ireland in 1996. We’d just seen Riverdance when we came across a small competition in Glenties, County Donegal on a Saturday afternoon. It was a simple, no-frills affair. Fast forward to yesterday. My friend Erin Joyce, an Irish dance teach of some renown, asked me if I’d like to be the designated photographer at Saturday’s Feis in Kansas City, which I gladly accepted. If you ever have the chance to attend a feis, do it. It is a treat for the senses, especially the eyes. I know I’ll return next year. Until then, here are some things that caught my eye Saturday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments

One Comment

Post a comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Jig | Bill Chance

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS