Info

Wonderful images? Yeah, I can do that.

It’s been way too long since I posted on this blog. I intended to write here on a regular basis. However, life just seems to get in the way. Since it’s been more than three months since my last post, I felt it was time to say something.

It’s been a good summer. I’ve heard the heartbeat and seen the sonograms of our first grandchild. I got to ride mountain passes in Colorado with my son-in-law, Alan. I got to ride around Taos with Mallory. I’ve ridden a ton this summer. Probably too much, but there’s been a dearth of business, and when faced with marketing or riding, I usually choose riding, at least for an hour or two. Teresa, Kelsey and I took a trip to St. Louis. I’ve worn shorts almost everyday this summer. I’ve had a lot of time to think about things, and it’s amazing how much thinking you can get done while on the saddle of a bike. And the product of that are a string of random thoughts and observations. It’s amazing the thoughts that run through my mind when I’m riding.

It seems as if everybody is in a big hurry all the time. You notice this especially while riding a bike. If I delay someone for as little as 5 or 10 seconds because of my speed, they are typically pissed and occasionally indignant that I cost them 10 precious seconds. I get honked at and cursed at by fortysomething white males a lot. Usually they are in a big truck or sans helmet on a motorcycle. Usually a Harley. They all seem to have a chip on their shoulders. Both their attitudes and their ignorance of the law is quite disturbing.

There are too many folks driving a big vehicle in which they are the only ones in the vehicle. Many of these folks are obese. I guess that shouldn’t come as any surprise when the preferred form of exercise in this country is doing 12-inch curls while watching “America’s Biggest Loser.”

Way too many people, already pathetic drivers as it is, are hell-bent on texting, talking on their cell phones while driving poorly. They think they’re capable of driving and texting, etc., but trust me, I’ve seen their work and they’re not.

We, as a nation, have lost our ability to respectfully disagree with each other. If you don’t agree with someone, you’re evil or you are the enemy. You’ve got to thank all the pin head pundits, i.e. Glen Beck, Keith Olberman, et. al. for stoking the fires of intolerance and appealing to the not-so-brights’ most base instincts.

We support the Constitution only so long as we don’t disagree with those who are trying to assert their constitutional rights. The whole “Ground-Zero Mosque” tempest is a prime example (it’s not a mosque and it’s not at Ground Zero, but Fox TV doesn’t let facts get in the way of stirring the pot and fostering foment). We, as Americans, say we support the First Amendment right to exercise one’s religion. Unless we don’t. Most of the folks in this country fail to see just how that makes us appear to the rest of the world and illustrates their ignorance about things they should have been taught in junior high school civics. Aren’t we supposed to better than this? Better than a place like Saudi Arabia where you can’t build a church? You gotta love the idiot I saw on TV recently whose reaction to President Obama’s support of the folks trying to build the building in question. She stated that “Obama doesn’t support our Constitution.” As president, that’s exactly what he was doing-advocating for those folks’ right to build their community center. Sure, it’s not political popular, but that’s why we have the Constitution–to protect people’s rights in perilous times.

I’m afraid of the folks whose only source for news is Fox News.. You’ve got to get more than one source, folks. Especially when Fox is reporting on a mysterious, nefarious source of funds for the “near Ground Zero Islamic Center, ” all the while not bothering to identify this source (a Saudi prince) as a large Fox shareholder. As Americans, we’ve got to be better than this or we’re living “Idiocracy” today, not 500 years from now. You’ve got to triangulate, people. My editing professor, John Bremner, told us in class that he abhorred single source stories. He said if your mother tells you that she loves you–you better check it out and be able to corroborate it with at least one other source. Preferably two other sources.

Why is it that every time the Dems control the government, the Republicans don’t believe that the government is legitimate? That’s how democracy works. You win some. You lose some. Again, junior high civics.

Why do 20% of Americans believe that President Obama is a Muslim and not a natural born American citizen? Do these same folks believe in Santa Claus, too?

Are they Tea Partiers or Tea Baggers? And do they really drink tea? I prefer tea baggers. Although I learned recently that is a derogatory term describing oral sex. I learned this from a very religious person. I guess I don’t spend much time thinking about oral sex or euphemisms that describe sex acts. I guess that person does. Kind of weird.

I hear a fair number of people demanding tort reform, but I’ll be willing to bet that most of them have know idea what they’re talking about. They’re just parroting some talking head from TV.

A big thank you to the attorneys (plaintiffs’) for the class action suit against Apple for the iPhone 4 antenna “issue.” They’ll make the money while the owners of the phones will get a bumper. What a waste of judicial resources.

Why do we now have heat advisories with a “comfort index?” I mean, is it really necessary? If it’s summer in Kansas, I expect it to be hot. Often damned hot. I don’t need some weatherman in front of a green screen to tell me that the temp is 95F but feels like 105F. I’ve lived in Kansas a long time. It’s summer dammit. Stop reminding me. If folks aren’t smart enough to put on a hat and drink plenty of water, and not exercise in the heat of the day, well, maybe . . .well, you get the idea. They’re just taking up space. I’m betting that most of the folks that work outdoors in the summer know what to do.

Well, that’s all I have for now, but I’m sure that a bunch of other random thoughts will work their way to the tip of my brain on a future ride


Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. September 17, 2010

    E,

    You’ll love this little gem. Sam just began working at a new job. One of his fellow employees (28yrs old) was asking him about speaking Arabic. She wanted to know if everyone who speaks Arabic is a Muslim? After he explained it’s a language and not a religion she then asked him; so is President Obama is a Muslim? Nothing beats a well-informed electorate, huh?

    Great thoughts here . . . keep em coming!

  2. jeffjacobsen #
    September 27, 2010

    Great to have you sharing your thoughts again. Hope to read more on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS